Strughold Award


In 2006, the Space Medicine Association Executive Committee was asked to remove Dr. Strughold’s name from the Strughold Award due to alleged atrocities committed during World War II. After a two year investigation, which included obtaining classified files from the U.S. Dept. of Justice through the Freedom of Information Act, the Committee decided that there was no evidence of any atrocities, declined to remove his name and officially reported this to the Aerospace Medical Association Council and the Space Medicine Association (SMA) membership. The allegations resurfaced through a front page article in the Wall Street Journal published on Nov. 30, 2012. The SMA Executive Committee decided to suspend the Strughold Award for 2013, then released the details of the investigation to all members of the SMA, and asked for a vote from the entire SMA membership whether to retire or to continue the Strughold Award.  Links are available below for the Wall Street Journal article and the results of the investigation.

On October 1, 2013, the Space Medicine Association’s Executive Committee announced that the Space Medicine Association Strughold Award had been retired. The award had been given every year for the past 50 years “for dedication and outstanding contributions in advancing the frontiers of Space Medicine, and/or for sustained contributions to furthering the goals of the Space Medicine Association”.  As the most prestigious award sponsored by the organization, it had been given to the most distinguished leaders in operational and research oriented space medicine. While there was no evidence to demonstrate that Dr. Strughold was directly involved in any atrocities during World War II or that he was a member of the Nazi party, the award created controversy which was distracting to the main work and goals of the Space Medicine Association. The decision was the result of extensive deliberations and a formal vote by the Space Medicine Association members.

2012 Smith L. Johnston III, M.D., M.S.
2011 Michael Reed Barratt, M.D., M.S.

2010 Irene Duhart Long, M.D.
2009 James M. Vanderploeg, MD,
2008 Richard Jennings, M.D.
2007 Clarence Jernigan, M.D.
2006 Jeffrey R. Davis, M.D.
2005 William S. Augerson, M.D.
2004 Fred Kelly, M.D.
2003 STS-107 Crew
2002 Earl H. Wood, M.D., Ph.D.
2001 John Charles, Ph.D.
2000 Story Musgrave, M.D.
1999 Sam L. Pool, M.D.
1998 Valeri V. Polyakov, M.D.
1997 Shannon W. Lucid, Ph.D.
1996 Norman E. Thagard, M.D.
1995 Mary Anne Frey, Ph.D.
1994 Emmett B. Ferguson, M.D.
1993 Wyckliffe Hoffler, M.D.
1992 Roberta Bondar, M.D., Ph.D.
1991 Stanley R. Mohler, M.D.
1990 Joan Vernikkos, Ph.D
1988 Anatoly Ivanivich Grigoriev, M.D., Ph.D.
1984 Arnauld E.T. Nicogossian, M.D.
1983 Sherman P. Vinograd
1982 Sidney D. Leverett, Jr., Ph.D.
1975 Lawrence F. Dietlein, M.D., Ph.D.
1974 Cdr. Joseph P. Kerwin, M.D.
1969 Stanley C. White, MD
1967 Charles A. Berry, M.D.
1966 Hermann Schaefer, Ph.D.

Strughold-Awards-2016 (141.5 KiB)

Strughold Accomplishments (1.9 MiB)

Wall Street Journal Article Nov 30 2012 (646.0 KiB)

Strughold (154.0 KiB)

Strughold Header (21.4 KiB)

Figure 1 (1.1 MiB)

Figure 3 (129.4 KiB)

Figure 4 (36.0 KiB)

Strughold Award (25.7 KiB)

Appendix 1 - Hypoxia (1.3 MiB)

Appendix 4 - Children Hypoxia (56.6 KiB)

Figure 2 (56.2 KiB)

Appendix 2 - Hypothermia (104.5 KiB)

Appendix 3 - Salt Water (50.0 KiB)



Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.