Featured Members

Dr. Charles A. Berry

The recipient of the Space Medicine Association 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award was Dr. Charles A. Berry.

Dr. Berry graduated from the University of California at Berkley with a BA (1945) and then an MD (1947). He then did a rotating internship at the University of California at San Francisco (1948). He was a family practitioner in Indio, California for three years and then was chosen as one of the first twenty-five aeromedical residents in the charter Air Force Aeromedical Residency Program at Randolph AFB which he finished in 1952…

Expand to read more
Genie Bopp

The recipient of the President’s Award is Genie Bopp for her years of dedicated service to the organization in promoting educational goals, ensuring that our focus remained on encouraging students to pursue careers in space medicine, and recruiting new members.
The extremely strong financial position of the organization is due to her efforts over several years of eliciting donations and establishing our funds within the Aerospace medicine Foundation.

Mathias Basner,

The 2016 Space Medicine Association Journal Award was presented to Mathias Basner, MD PhD MSc, as the lead author of "Development and Validation of the Cognition Test Battery for Spaceflight" published in the Aerospace Medicine and Human Performance Journal in Nov 2015. Dr. Basner is an Associate Professor of Sleep and Chronobiology in Psychiatry at the Perelman School of Medicine, at the University of Pennsylvania. The journal citation is: Basner M, Savitt A, Moore TM, Port AM, McGuire S, Ecker AJ, Nasrini J, Mollicone DJ, Mott CM, McCann T, Dinges DF, Gur RC. Development and validation of the Cognition test battery for spaceflight. Aerosp Med Hum Perform. 2015; 86(11): 942 – 952.

Lt.Col. Eric Chumbley, M.D.

The Space Medicine Association Jeff Myers Young Investigators Award is a competition intended for those making their first major efforts into Aerospace Medicine Research. The winner of the award is Lt.Col. Eric Chumbley, M.D. His paper is entitled “The Use of Home Cervical Traction to Reduce Neck Pain in Fighter Pilots”. As an Air Force Flight Surgeon, Eric noted the problem of chronic neck pain occurring with high frequently in fighter pilots and explored this further as a research project looking for an operational solution while pursuing his Post-graduate degree at the Wright State University Aerospace Medicine program…

Expand to read more
Michael LapelusaMichael Lapelusa

The Space Medicine Association Jeffrey R. Davis Scholarship was established to encourage students, who have demonstrated academic achievement and shown an interest in Space Biology and Space Medical Operations, to further pursue a career in Space Medicine. This year’s scholarship is presented to Michael Lapelusa. Michael received a Bachelor of Science in Molecular and Cellular Biology and a Minor in Chemistry from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in May of 2015.

Expand to read more
Dr. Stanley R. Mohler

The recipient of the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award was Dr. Stanley R. Mohler (1927-2014). Dr. Mohler was the Director of the FAA Civil Aeromedical Research Institute (1961-1965), the Director of the FAA Aeromedical Applications Division (1965-1978), and the Founder and Director of the Wright State University Aerospace Medical Residency Program (1978-2004). He published over 300 articles and made enormous contributions in Aviation and space medical standards, Accident investigation, Pilot protective equipment, and Pilot aging and stress…

Expand to read more

Anatoly Ivanovich Grigoriev, M.D., Ph.D., D.Sci.

The recipient of the 2015 Jeffrey P. Sutton Scientific Achievement Award is Anatoly Ivanovich Grigoriev, M.D., Ph.D., D.Sci. Dr. Grigoriev is the Vice President of the Russian Academy of Sciences and the Scientific Director of the Institute of Biomedical Problems (IBMP) in Moscow. He has held these positions since 2008. From 1988 to 2008, he was the Director of IBMP. Academician Grigoriev is one of the founders of gravitational physiology, and has made significant contributions to our understanding of fluid and electrolyte regulation, orthostatic instability, adaptation, deconditioning, and countermeasures associated with human space flight…

Expand to read more
Dujuan SevillianDujuan Sevillian

Dujuan Sevillian was the winner of the 2015 Young Investigators Award. The winner of the 2015 SMA JM YIA is Dujuan Sevillian . His paper is entitled ”Flight Deck Engineering: the Impact of flight Deck Crew Alerting and Information Systems on English as a Second Language Flight Crew Performance.”. As a pilot himself, he understood their perspective and was able to convince them that he had their best interest at heart – a universal Flight Surgeon’s principle…

Expand to read more
Anita Mantri

Raised in the Houston area, home to the Texas Medical Center and NASA Johnson Space
Center, Anita developed a passion for aerospace medicine from an early age and yearned to be a
“space doctor”. Pursuing this dream became a reality as Anita attended Rice University and
received a Bachelor of Science degree in Earth Science in 2009. After university, she worked for
the NASA Ames Research Center and served as a teacher for home-schooled students with
kidney transplants in Houston and fifth graders at Mount St. Mary’s School in Nadi, Fiji…

Expand to read more

Natacha Chough

The 2015 Jeffrey R. Davis Scholarship was presented to Dr. Natacha Chough. Dr. Chough received her Bachelor of Science degree in Biology with Honors from the University of Washington and an M.D from the University of Michigan. She later completed residency training in Emergency Medicine at Stanford University, and is completing her aerospace medicine residency training at UTMB next month. Her performance during residency training has been outstanding. Dr. Chough’s awards during her residency include the Society of NASA Flight Surgeons Outstanding Student award, the William K. Douglas Scholarship and TWO RAM Bowl championships. Natacha has an avid interest in International and Wilderness medicine and is a Fellow of the Academy of Wildness Medicine.

Featured-memeber-placeholderJames Pattarini

The winner of the 2014 Wyle Scholarship is James Pattarini. He received his MD from the State University of New York at Buffalo and his MPH degree from the University of Texas Medical Branch. He is currently an Internal Medicine/Aerospace Medicine resident at the University of Texas Medical Branch. He has published research papers on a variety of physiology problems related to the Red Bull Stratos Free Fall Project and Commercial Spaceflight.

Featured-memeber-placeholderNevine Mahmoud

The winner of the 2014 Jeffrey R. Davis Scholarship is Nevine Mahmoud. She received her M.D. from Cairo University in Egypt, has completed residencies in Pediatrics and Family Medicine and is now graduating from the Wright State University Aerospace Medicine Residency program. She presented research at the meeting on robotic neuro-prosthesis for pilot amputees. The Space Medicine Association Scholarship sponsored by Jeffrey R. Davis is awarded each year to a college, medical school, residency, or fellowship student. The purpose of the Scholarship is to encourage students who have demonstrated academic achievement and shown an interest in Space Biology and Medical Operations to further pursue a career in Space Medicine.

Rob MulcahyRob Mulcahy

Rob Mulcahy is the winner of the 2014 Young Investigators Award with his excellent presentation given at this meeting, “Subject Anxiety and Psychological Considerations for Centrifuge-Simulated Suborbital Spaceflight”.