Send information for publication on this page to: Mary Anne Frey, Ph.D. Lockheed Engineering & Science Co. 500 E Street, SW, Ste. 800 Washington, DC 20024 (202) 803-5248

SPACE MEDICINE BRANCH REPORT

Message from the President

Since joining the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA), attendance at Space Medicine Branch (SMB) activities has been one of the most exciting and satisfying aspects of my membership. I have learned from SMB-sponsored programs and enjoyed meeting many members at the annual luncheons, and I have been enchanted with the excellent luncheon speakers and the vicarious experiences in spaceflight and space medicine. This passive experience is certainly enough to make membership in the SMB very rewarding.

After a few years, I also became actively involved in the SMB activities. I participated in programs, served on a committee, served as a member at large, and then was elected President. For me, this active role made membership even more satisfying.

This year, we are reactivating the SMB committees to give other members an opportunity to be actively involved. Those of you who were at the annual luncheon were asked to sign up for committees if you were interested. Those who signed up have been assigned as chair or member of the committee of his/her choice. The committees are presently constituted as follows:

Awards

Jeff Myers, M.D., Chair Karen Mathes, R.N. Smith Johnston, M.D. Phil Scarpa, M.D. Tim Ungs, M.D. Melchor Antuñano, M.D.

Program

Guy Banta, Ph.D., Chair Art Arnold, M.D. Smith Johnston, M.D. Long-Range Planning Robin Dodge, M.D., Chair Richard Jennings, M.D. David Tipton, M.D.

Education and Training Annette Sobel, M.D., Chair Guy Banta, Ph.D. Jim Collins, M.D. Anet K. Razj, M.D. Richard E. Osceolo, D.O. Patrick J. McGinnis, M.D. Terrence Taddeo, M.D.

Membership Thomas McNish, M.D., Chair Deb Krupa, R.N. Richard E. Oswald, D.O.

Corporate Membership Karen Galser, M.S., Chair Jeff Davis, M.D.

Custodian of the Gavel Frank Austin, M.D.

Historian Stanley White, M.D. (Wyckliffe Hoffler, M.D.)

International

Chrysoula Kourtidou, M.D., Chair William Douglas, M.D. Paul Kuklinski, M.D. Patrick J. McGinnis, M.D. Akira Miyamoto, M.D.

Nominating Committee David Tipton, Ex Officio

You will be hearing from these committees in Aviation, Space and Environmental Medicine. In fact, in previous Journal issues, you have already heard about the Awards Committee (in an article by Jeff Myers, August 1994) and about the History Committee (in a report by Stan White, September 1994).

Some of the committees would welcome additional members who want to actively participate. So, if you are interested in becoming actively involved in the SMB's activities, please let me or the committee chair know.

Whether you prefer to be involved or to simply enjoy the activities of the Branch, I hope that your membership will continue to be satisfying to you and that you will communciate to me any suggestions you have to make your membership and that of your fellow members more rewarding.

Dr. White has served the Branch as Historian in an outstanding manner for a number of years. We are indebted to him for revitalizing interest in the history of the Branch and preserving many important pieces of information, and arranging for a permanent home for our valuable documents at the Wright State University Library. Dr. White has indicated he will step down as Historian after this year to pursue other interests. This is a loss to the Branch, but we are grateful for what he has done and hope we can continue to rely on his knowledge and expertise in the future. We are lucky that Dr. G. Wyckliffe Hoffler has agreed to become the SMB Historian starting next year (this is a 5-year term). Dr. Hoffler, a past President of SMB, also has great knowledge of the history of the SMB and all the attributes to be an excellent Historian. Our thanks to Dr. White and Dr. Hoffler.

> Mary Anne Frey President, 1994–95

Nominations Sought for 1995 AsMA Awards

The Awards Committee of the Aerospace Medical Association, which is responsible for selecting the annual winners of special awards, has set a December 15 deadline for receiving nominations for awards to be presented at the 1995 Annual Scientific Meeting in Anaheim, CA.

The committee chair emphasizes, however, that the names of prospective award winners should be submitted as far in advance of the deadline as possible. Lots of time is needed to review all of the names and select the winners.

Nominations can be made by any member of the Association.

The nominations must be submitted on forms available from the AsMA Home Office, and printed in the Journal.

Nomination form and 14 copies should be mailed to:

Chair, Awards Committee Aerospace Medical Association 320 South Henry Street Alexandria, VA 22314-3579 Policies:

1. The nominee must be a current member of the Association, except that the Sidney D. Leverett, Jr., Environmental Science Award is open to nonmembers. Deceased members may be nominated.

2. The Chair of the Awards Committee does not vote and is not eligible for an award during his/her tenure.

3. Winners may received only one award in any year and may receive additional awards only at 7-year intervals, except for the Sidney D. Leverett, Jr., Environmental Science Award.

4. Employees of a company sponsoring an award are eligible to receive the award.

5. Awards involving a published paper will be made only to the senior author.

6. Unsuccessful nominees for an annual award will be retained in the active file through three award cycles.