Send information for publication on this page to: **Philip J. Scarpa, M.D., M.S.**

Philip J. Scarpa, M.D., M.S. Biomedical Dept., JJ-C NASA-Kennedy Space Center, FL 32899

(321) 867-6386

philip.scarpa-1@ksc.nasa.gov

SPACE MEDICINE BRANCH REPORT

Report of the 2000 Space Medicine Branch Meeting

The Annual Space Medicine Branch (SMB) Executive Committee Breakfast Meeting and 49th Annual Business Luncheon were held at the 71st Annual Scientific Meeting of the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA) on Thursday, May 18, 2000, at the Westin Galleria in Houston, TX. (Please Note: Photos of the activities at the luncheon appeared in the August issue, p. 874.) At the luncheon, Dr. Robin Dodge, Branch President for the 1999-2000 term, called the session to order, honored the Branch past-presidents in attendance, and in-

Branch past-presidents in attendance, and in troduced the members seated at the head table: Phil Scarpa, M.D., President-Elect; Jim Collier, M.D., Secretary/Treasurer; Lloyd Tripp, B.A., incoming Secretary/Treasurer and co-Chair of the Awards Committee; and Melchor Antuñano, M.D., guest speaker.

Dr. Dodge first thanked Wyle Labs, and Comprehensive Health Services, Inc., for their generous corporate sponsorship of Branch activities. He then noted that the AsMA archives at Wright State University (WSU) have re-opened. From these archives, we have learned that the SMB was first organized in 1950 and held their first sanctioned business meeting in 1951. Therefore, this coming year, culminating in the 2001 Annual Business Meeting, is the 50th anniversary year for the SMB. Further information regarding the archives presented by Dr. Dodge indicated that there was a single article by Paul Campbell, M.D., first president of the SMB, describing SMB activities from 1950-1957. However, the first organized SMB material was found dating only from 1963. In approximately 1992, the SMB and the WSU Library established a formal agreement for the library to house SMB archived material. The SMB plans further efforts to organize and add to these archives.

Dr. Jim Collier, Secretary/Treasurer, reported that the Branch has had expenses totaling \$1610.57 during the past year (recorded from the first day of last year's annual AsMA meeting). Dues receipts during that same time period were \$2135 and the corporate sponsorship from the companies noted above came to \$1100, yielding a current balance of \$5591.35. As to membership, the Branch carries 282 names on its roster. Of these, 197 are paid up through the year 2000 or beyond. Five new members were added during the past year. Dr. Collier reiterated that SMB members must be members of the parent organization, AsMA, and that the Branch would be undertaking efforts to verify the AsMA status of Branch members. Dr. Collier also reported on efforts he had made to simplify the dues payment process for our international members. Unfortunately, bank fees to handle checks drawn on non-U.S. banks and currency fluctuations on foreign denominated currency made handling of these items more expensive than our annual dues. Therefore, the current policy would remain in place.

Dr. Phil Scarpa, President-Elect and Chair of the Nomination Committee, announced the results of the SMB election, in which approximately 80 ballots were cast: President-Elect - Melchor Antuñano, M.D. (2001-2002); Secretary/Treasurer, Lloyd Tripp, B.A. (2000-2002); Members-at-Large – Volker Damann, M.D. (2000-2003) and Chiharu Sekiguchi, M.D. (2000-2003). In addition, Mr. Lloyd Tripp, Secretary/Treasurer-Elect, has been serving as a Member-at-Large with a term to end in 2001. In order to serve as Secretary, Treasurer, he will vacate his Member-at-Large position. This position will be filled by Nick Kanas, M.D., who was next in line in the voting process for Member-at-Large. Dr. Robin Dodge will join Drs. Damann and Sekiguchi as a Member-at- Large for the 2000-2003 year group.

Mr. Lloyd Tripp reported that 137 papers were submitted for consideration of the Branch's Young Investigator Award (YIA) for this year. Of these, 16 finalists were chosen. This award is presented to that investigator who is presenting a paper to AsMA for the first time and whose paper is judged to be the best, on scientific merit, among that group of eligible nominees. After review and voting by all members of the awards panel, two papers emerged with the highest score. These two papers were submitted for a second review and the paper submitted by Carla Ledderhos, M.D., entitled "Anti-Diuresis and Reduced Tolerance of Hypobaric Hypoxia in Young Men with Primary Hypertension," was selected as the winner. Dr. Ledderhos, from Germany, was presented with the Young Investigator's Award plaque along with a monetary award of \$150.

The Hubertus Strughold Award winner, that person in the field of space medicine who has shown dedication and outstanding contributions in advancing the frontiers of Space Medicine and/or for sustained contributions to furthering the goals of the Space Medicine Branch, was Story Musgrave, M.D. Dr. Dodge, in presenting the award to Dr. Musgrave, noted that, in addition to the many accomplishments of Dr. Musgrave's which are well known to the public, such as his work on the Hubble Space Telescope repair mission, and being the oldest U.S. astronaut to have flown in space (until John Glenn's return to space), Dr. Musgrave is also responsible for the development of much of the equipment and techniques currently used by NASA for extravehicular activities.

The invited address was given by Melchor Antuñano, M.D., Manager of Aeromedical Education at the Civil Aeromedical Institute of the Federal Aviation Administration. His excellent and very well received presentation was directed at the rapid rate with which the commercial sector is approaching the realm of space. Much of

the medical work regarding spaceflight has been, up to this point, either to perform basic physiological research or to better define the medical standards and health concerns for the astronaut corps. Dr. Antuñano pointed out that because we have been so focused on these areas, we have actually fallen behind, especially from a policy standpoint, on the needs of the commercial sector in its requirements for space travel.

Following the guest speaker, Dr. Phil Scarpa was installed as the new Branch President. Dr. Scarpa presented the Past President's Plaque to out-going President, Dr. Robin Dodge, and thanked him for his great efforts on behalf of the Branch over the past year. He closed the meeting by stating that he was looking forward to this, the 50th anniversary year of the Branch, challenging us to learn from the past but to "live" in the future, and assuring that we will explore and live in space and should all look forward to continuing the Branch's contributions to the future of space medicine.

Jim Collier, M.D. Secretary/Treasurer

YOUNG INVESTIGATOR AWARD

The Space Medicine Branch's Young Investigator Award is presented to an investigator who is the first author of an outstanding paper (slide or poster session) in the area of aviation and/or space medicine presented at the current or previous scientific meeting of the Aerospace Medical Association. In addition to being the first author, the work must be original and the investigator must be presenting at the AsMA annual scientific meeting for the first time.

The award is intended to encourage young investigators new to the field of aerospace medicine. The applicant must submit a draft manuscript of their presentation to the chairperson of the Awards Committee. To be considered for the 2001 award, manuscripts must be submitted by the end of March 2001 to:

Jeffrey Myers, M.D.
SMB, Young Investigators Award
Chair
P. O. Box 540305
Merritt Island, FL 32954
Phone: (407) 867-2026
Jeffrey.Myers-1@kmail.ksc.nasa.gov