SPACE MEDICINE BRANCH REPORT

Send information for publication on this page to: Philip J. Scarpa, M.D., M.S. Biomedical Office, JJ-C NASA-Kennedy Space Center, FL 32899 (407) 867-3152 philip.scarpa-1@ksc.nasa.gov

Annual Space Medicine Branch Meeting Report

The Annual Business Luncheon of the Space Medicine Branch (SMB) at the 68th Annual Scientific Meeting of the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA) took place on Thursday, May 15, 1997, at the Hyatt Regency Chicago, Chicago, IL. Present at the head table were Bradley G. Beck, M.D., President; Philip J. Scarpa, M.D., Secretary-Treasurer; Denise L. Baisden, M.D., President-Elect; Smith L. Johnston, M.D., Awards Committee; David F. Ward, M.D. accepting for Strughold Award winner; and Fred W. Haise, guest speaker.

The President, Dr. Brad Beck, began the meeting by recognizing all the past presidents of the SMB in the room. He then introduced those at the head table. Thanks were given to our corporate sponsors and the efforts of the Corporate Membership Committee chairman, Dr. Paul Humbert. This year's sponsors were EG&G, McDonnell-Douglas, and United

Space Alliance.

The Secretary-Treasurer's report was given by Dr. Phil Scarpa. There are 288 members in the SMB including 6 new members and several reinstatements. Our financial status is good. Election results from this spring's mailings were given. The new President-elect is K. Jeffrey Myers, M.D.; and three new members-at-large are Michael Barratt, M.D., David Ward, M.D., and James Collier, M.D. SMB patches are for sale and committee signup lists were available after the meeting.

The President reported on the success of the Branch's two sponsored scientific panels at this year's meeting. Chaired by Nick Kanas, M.D. they were entitled "Psychosocial Findings from Recent Space Simulation Studies" and "Psychosocial Support for Astronauts." The panels emphasized important concerns for the future including longer duration missions and more international crews. The President then commented on the space activities over the past year. There were eight shuttle

flights, with STS-84 to the Russian Space Station Mir that morning. Dr. Beck noted that the U.S. on Mir has doubled its previous record of long duration space experience of Skylab in just one year. The President pointed out the need for better news coverage of space program activities in the general media. Dr. Beck said that it is unfortunate that the only time we hear anything about the space program is when something is going wrong. He encouraged the SMB to get involved in helping promote the space program.

Dr. Beck mentioned that the Space Station timeline has slipped again by several months and there was concern in AsMA that shuttle missions dedicated to Space Life Sciences research were to be removed to make way for flights dedicated to building the station. He had hoped to see the first element of the station in orbit by the end of his term but stated that perhaps this will occur by next year.

The President briefly went over the results of this morning's SMB Executive Committee meeting. The idea was brought up for the Branch to try and sponsor panels on clinical space medicine or case reports like those done in the Air Force. Panels could also be given on passenger concerns for the National Aerospace Space Plane. Dr. Beck pointed out that the SMB needs more committee help and encouraged the members to get involved with them.

Smith Johnston, M.D., of the Awards Committee then presented the SMB's Young Investigator Award to Terry E. Martin, M.B., B.S., for his research work in elucidating the location and pattern in the brain of conscious human mental processes using Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI). There were 120 candidates of which 12 were finalists and 3 were honorable mentions. The finalists were invited and introduced at the luncheon. Denise Baisden, M.D., of the Awards Committee then presented the

Hubertus Strughold Award to U.S. astronaut Shannon W. Lucid, Ph.D., "for her contributions in furthering the study of space physiology and medicine particularly with regard to long duration space flight."

Guest speaker, Fred Haise, former U.S. astronaut and Apollo 13 crewmember, gave the "real story" of Apollo 13. He showed pictures and video, adapted from 8 mm footage, of the mission and provided interesting insights into the functions of NASA at the time, the reality of a near disastrous spaceflight, and the many people who worked to return the crew safely to Earth.

Following the guest speaker, Dr. Baisden, as incoming President, was installed as the new President of the Space Medicine Branch. Dr. Baisden presented the Past President's Plaque to Dr. Beck and then adjourned the meeting.

Reminder for Prospective Associate Fellows

The Chair of the Associate Fellows Group reminds prospective Associate Fellows that their applications must be received by August 1 each year in order to be considered for the annual selection.

The deadline each year for sending updates of point score remains Očtober 1.

Remember!

Council Meetings are open to all members of the Aerospace Medical Association. We welcome your attendance and input.

Nominations Sought for 1997 AsMA Awards

The Awards Committee of the Aerospace Medical Association, which is responsible for selecting the annual winners of special awards, has set a December 15 deadline for receiving nominations for awards to be presented at the 1997 Annual Scientific Meeting in Chicago, IL.

The committee chair emphasizes, however, that the names of prospective award winners should be submitted as far in advance of the deadline as possible. Lots of time is needed to review all of the names and select the winners.

Nominations can be made by any niember of the Association. The nominations must be submitted on forms available from the ASMA Home Office, and printed in the journal.

Nomination form and 14 copies should be mailed to:

Chair, Awards Committee Aerospace Medical Association 320 South Henry Street Alexandria, VA 22314-3579

- 1. The nominee must be a current member of the Association. except that the Sidney D. Leverett, Jr. Environmental Science Award is open to nonmembers. Deceased members may be nomi-
- 2. The Chair of the Awards Committee does not vote and is not eligible for an award during his/her tenure.
- 3. Winners may receive only one award in any year and may receive additional awards only at 7-year intervals, except for the Sidney D. Leverett, Jr. Environmental Science Award.
- 4. Employees of a company sponsoring an award are eligible to receive the award.
- 5. Awards involving a published paper will be made only to the senior author.
- 6. Unsuccessful nominees for an annual award will be retained in the active file through three award cycles.