Send information for publication on this page to: Philip J. Scarpa, M.D., M.S. Mail Code TA-C2 NASA-Kennedy Space Center, FL 32899 (321) 867-6386 philip.scarpa-1@ksc.nasa.gov

Space Medicine Branch Report

Update on The National Space Biomedical Research Institute

The National Space Biomedical Research Institute (NSBRI) has nearly doubled in size since its founding in April 1997. A collaborative effort between NASA and some of the finest research laboratories in the country, the NSBRI helps lead a national effort to pave the way for safe human exploration of space. The Institute's mission is to address the medical obstacles to safe, productive, long-duration presence in space, and apply the knowledge gained from space research to medical problems on Earth. The NSBRI is directed by MIT Professor Dr. Laurence R. Young. Dr. Ronald White is Research Director, and Dr. Robert Alford is Chairman of the Board and CEO.

In October 1999, after a competitive review process, five more institutions were added to the NSBRI consortium: Brookhaven National Laboratories, Mount Sinai School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania Health System, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, and the University of Washington. These five joined the original seven consortium members: Baylor College of Medicine, which serves as the lead institution, Harvard Medical School, Johns Hopkins University, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Morehouse School of Medicine, Rice University, and Texas A&M University.

The Institute began by establishing teams to investigate eight important space research areas: bone loss; cardiovascular alterations; human performance and sleep; immunology and hematology; muscle alterations; neurovestibular adaptation; radiation effects; and technology development.

In October 2000, four new research teams

will be added: integrated human function; neurobehavioral and psychosocial factors; nutrition, physical fitness and rehabilitation; and smart medical systems. All grants are peer reviewed and open to national competition.

"While the NSBRI's work will help solve the untoward effects of spaceflight," said Dr. Young, "the research will undoubtedly also impact similar conditions on Earth, such as osteoporosis, balance disorders, shift-related sleep difficulties and immune system problems."

Within the NSBRI, Dr. Young is leading a major new research initiative in artificial gravity. He is also working with the NSBRI, Harvard, and MIT's Division of Health Sciences and Technology toward developing a new graduate program in Space Life Sciences. Dr. Young was a principal investigator on four space shuttle missions and an alternate NASA payload specialist for the Space Life Sciences-2 mission in October 1993. He is renowned for his research on space motion sickness and the functions of the inner ear. He is Director of the Massachusetts Space Grant Consortium and was co-founder of the Man-Vehicle Lab at MIT. "The National Space Biomedical Research Institute is a great opportunity to allow Space Life Sciences to reach its full potential," said Young. "We have a lot of homework to do to send people to Mars. But I think we'll get there.

For more information on the Institute, you may review the NSBRI web site at http://www.nsbri.org, or you may contact the NSBRI Headquarters Office in Houston by phone at 713-798-7412 or by e-mail at info@www.nsbri.org.

SPACE MEDICINE BRANCH YOUNG INVESTIGATOR AWARD

The Space Medicine Branch's Young Investigator Award is presented to a young investigator who is the primary author of an outstanding presentation in the area of Aerospace Medicine presented at the current Annual Scientific Meeting of the Aerospace Medical Association. In addition to being the primary author, the work must be original and the young investigator must be presenting at the Annual Scientific Meeting for the first time. The Award is intended to encourage young investigators new to the field of Aerospace Medicine.

The applicant must submit a draft manuscript if their presentation to the chair of the Young Investigator Award sub-Committee. To be considered for the 2001 award, manuscripts must be submitted by the end of March, 2001 to:

K. Jeffrey Myers, M.D. Space Medicine Branch Young Investigator Award Chair P.O. Box 540305 Merritt Island, Florida 32954 Phone: (321) 867-2026 jeffrey.myers-1@kmail.ksc.nasa.gov

Nominations Sought for 2001 AsMA Awards

The Awards Committee of the Aerospace Medical Association, which is responsible for selecting the annual winners of special awards, has set a December 15 deadline for receiving nominations for awards to be presented at the 2001 Annual Scientific Meeting in Reno, NV.

The committee chair emphasizes, however, that the names of prospective award winners should be submitted as far in advance of the deadline as possible. Lots of time is needed to review all of the names and select the winners.

Nominations can be made by any member of AsMA. The nominations must be submitted on forms available from the AsMA Home Office, and printed in the journal. Nomination form and 14 copies should be mailed to:

> Chair, Awards Committee Aerospace Medical Association 320 South Henry Street Alexandria, VA 22314-3579

Policies:

1. The nominee must be a current member of the Association, except that the Sidney D. Leverett, Jr. Environmental Science Award is open to nonmembers. Deceased members may be nominated.

2. The Chair of the Awards Committee does not vote and is not eligible for an award during his/her tenure.

3. Winners may receive only one award in any year and may receive additional awards only at 7-year intervals, except for the Sidney D. Leverett, Jr. Environmental Science Award.

4. Employees of a company sponsoring an award are eligible to receive the award.

5. Awards involving a published paper will be made only to the senior author.

6. Unsuccessful nominees for an annual award will be retained in the active file through three award cycles.